Art · Just for fun

Cherry Blossom

It’s been quite a while since I did any traditional artwork–all of my inking and coloring recently has been digital, with a pen tablet. So the other day, River sketched a few things out for me and I sat down to try my hand at doing things the old-fashioned way.

This was actually my first time inking something traditionally. It was a little nerve-wracking, honestly, but also weirdly zen at the same time–there’s no Ctrl-Z button if you aren’t happy with a line, so once you’ve put something down, you have to leave it. I tend to redo lines a lot when I’m inking pictures digitally, trying to get everything just right, so I end up spending a lot of time on a single piece. Inking this only took me about 10 minutes, and the entire drawing was finished in a couple of hours. And while I’m not wholly satisfied with how everything turned out, I think trying this taught me a few things.

Here’s a close-up. I think you can see the colors a bit better in this picture.

A few more drawings are in the works, so once I finish I’ll post about them, too. See you then!

~Cloud

What do you guys think about traditional vs. digital art?

Comments make me smile. :)

