Recipe · Stuff to Share

Recipe to Share–Rolled Oatmeal Cake. ^_^

A few days ago I had oatmeal for breakfast, but it turned out that I had made too much. I don’t like wasting food, so I was looking at it, trying to think up a way to either a) convince someone else to eat it, or b) use it up, when I had the idea–why not make an Oatmeal Bar? Like a granola bar, but using the leftover oatmeal. It turned out a little too soft and chewy for a bar, though, so I rolled it up and called it a Oatmeal Cake. It was pretty tasty, so I decided to write this post about it and let you guys try it. ^_^ No pictures, I’m afraid (we ate it too fast), but I may post some later if I make another.

This is what you’ll need:

  • Leftover oatmeal.
  • Dried fruits, nuts, whatever you want to put in it.
  • Sugar, Agave, Honey, whatever sweetener you like, to taste.
  • Something to keep the oatmeal mix from sticking to your pan, like butter or oil.
  • A brownie pan. Or something to hold your to-be-cake. (I personally used a piece of tinfoil folded into a box, but I would recommend something more sturdy)

Start your oven or toaster oven preheating to 350-400 degrees Farenheit.

Mix your fruits, nuts, or what-have-you and your sweetener into the oatmeal. I used dried cherries, dried blueberries, and dried cranberries, mixed with a splash of vanilla extract and a small spoonful of brown sugar. 🙂

Grease your pan, then spoon your oatmeal mix into your pan, and spread it evenly throughout.

Put your Cake-to-be into the oven and cook for around 40 minutes, or until the top is brown and the batter is firm when you press on it. Make sure that the cake is cool before you press on it, of course.

If the batter isn’t firm, pop it back into the oven and cook for a few more minutes.

When the cake is ready, pop it out of the pan and onto a plate, then roll it up, sticky side together.

Slice it and enjoy! If you make one and take pictures, I would love to see them. ^o^

I think I’ll be making more of these sometime in the future (right now I’m thinking about making a Chocolate-Banana Oatmeal Cake :D) so I may upload pictures and things later. Keep an eye out for them!

As a side note, this seems to be the start of something new–Stuff to Share. I hope you guys will like it!

~Cloud

4 thoughts on “Recipe to Share–Rolled Oatmeal Cake. ^_^

Comments make me smile. :)

